Le Centre de recherche et d’études sur le vieillissement de l’Université McGill
Projets
Recherche et formation
Cliniques
Activités
Accueil
Membres
Ressources
Reconnaissance
Publications
Nouvelles
Rencontres
Athlétisme
Personnel
Sources de Financement
Rapport annuel
Faire un don
Contact
McGill Logo
Douglas Logo

   
 

Le Centre de recherche et d’étude sur le vieillissement de l’Université McGill (MCSA) a développé une grande expertise dans le domaine du vieillissement du cerveau. Le Centre est reconnu comme l’un des principaux centre dans les domaines de la mémoire, la cognition et les diverses formes de démences telle que la maladie d’Alzheimer et autres maladies reliées au vieillissement.

Les principales caractéristiques du MCSA incluent

  • Des cliniques de recherche sur la mémoire et le dysfonctionnement cognitif, la maladie d’Alzheimer ainsi que le vieillissement normal
     
  • Des programmes de recherche sur la génétique, l’endocrinologie, la pharmacologie, la biologie moléculaire, la neurochimie, la neuropathologie et la psychologie comportementale (http://tnl.research.mcgill.ca)

RECHERCHE DE BASE

Activités de transfert de connaissances:

· Rencontre annuelle des membres et donateurs (habituellement chaque année en juin, 2010: 22 et 23 Juin; 2011: 21 juin, dîner et rencontre en après-midi; environ 50 participants par rencontre). Lors de ces événements, les chercheurs du Centre passent en revue les réalisations au niveau des découvertes en recherche au cours de la dernière année et expliquent les nouveaux essais cliniques et leurs promesses thérapeutiques.

· Série de conférences publiques « BRAINY BOOMERS ». En 2007, le comité d’éducation du MCSA a mis sur pied la « série de conférences Boomers Brillants », dans le but de soutenir ses objectifs, et de sensibiliser et éduquer la population en général. Nous avons, depuis, présenté 150 conférences au total à différents endroits dans la région de Montréal. Ces conférences publiques sont présentées par des professionnels de niveau universitaire et des médecins spécialistes. L’objectif de ces conférences est de proposer et initier des mesures concrètes visant à améliorer la santé du cerveau, afin de prévenir les maladies reliées au vieillissement, de même que promouvoir le choix de saines habitudes de vie auprès de la génération la plus populeuse de l'histoire. La série de conférences publiques continue d'être une des activités la plus marquante parmi les activités de notre centre.

· Symposium scientifique satellite de la Conférence cognitive de neuroscience à l’Hôtel Hilton Bonaventure à Montréal (http://cns-satellite.mcgill.ca/index.html). Au cours d’une même journée, nous avons accueilli onze conférenciers (parmi ceux-ci: C. Cuello, J. Breitner, J. Poirier, J. Doyon, S. Gauthier et T. Montine) qui ont présenté les plus récentes découvertes liées à leur domaine de recherche respectif, dans le contexte de la recherche sur le vieillissement et la démence, devant un auditoire d’environ 20 chercheurs et étudiants en stage.

· Symposium d’une journée ouvert au public tenu le 1er octobre 2010 (http://aging.mcgill.ca/symposium_oct2010.htm). Nous avons accueilli des conférenciers de notre Centre, de l’Université McGill de même que de l’Institut Douglas. Celui-ci était organisé en collaboration avec la Clinique de mémoire de l’Institut Douglas. Nous avons fait une mise à jour des plus récentes découvertes en ce qui a trait à de saines habitudes de vie liées à un vieillissement sain et réussi. Cet événement a eu lieu sur les terrains de l’Institut Douglas et a réuni plus de 200 participants provenant de la région de Montréal.

Activités de recherche et de formation

- Journal Club du MCSA avec des conférenciers des facultés des universités McGill et de Montréal, tenus sur une base bimensuelle; étudiants, résidents, membres et collègues sont invités; participation type, 30 personnes.

- Réception du MCSA pour les étudiants durant les mois d’été sur les terrains du MCSA (“cinq à sept”), tenue chaque semaine durant l’été: un endroit pour rencontrer des collègues étudiants et résidents d’autres départements; labos et formations pour discuter des points d’intérêt commun et explorer les avenues de collaboration à un niveau étudiant; participation type, 20 personnes.

- Formation étudiante continue sur les méthodes cliniques, endocriniennes et de neuro-imagerie dans les laboratoires du personnel du MCSA pour les 20 et + étudiants gradués parmi les principaux chercheurs du MCSA.

- Allocations du MCSA pour les étudiants membres du Centre qui désirent participer à des conférences sur le vieillissement et la démence (5 bourses allant jusqu’à 750.00 $ chacun par année).

Activités de recherche:

En plus des activités individuelles de recherche des chercheurs, nous avons fait, en 2010, le lancement d’une activité commune de recherche clinique du Centre: Programme de prévention des maladies neurodégénératives chez toutes les personnes à risque (PONDER; http://ponder.mcgill.ca/). Cette initiative de test cognitif et de formation, recrute des sujets (40 à 90 ans d’âge) provenant de la communauté locale et évalue leurs capacités cognitives au fil du temps, dans les zones identifiées comme présentant rapidement des changements au niveau des maladies neurodégénératives (e.g., l’empan numérique, le test des tracés, liste de mots). En même temps, ceci permet aux participants de prendre part à un entraînement cognitif des zones ayant été ciblées comme étant sensibles au renforcement par le biais de l’entraînement, i.e. la mémoire, la vitesse de traitement des données et l’attention. Le programme a été lancé en avril 2010, pour une phase d’essai beta, et a déjà attiré plus de 100 participants et ce, sans effort de recrutement ou publicité.


RECHERCHE CLINIQUE

Le programme de recherche Clinique du MCSA a été créé pour examiner et déterminer les caractéristiques cliniques de vieillissement normal et anormal chez les sujets humains.

· Le programme de recherche sur le VIEILLISSEMENT SAIN met l’emphase sur la caractérisation des marqueurs psychologiques et biologiques associés au vieillissement sain normal.

· Le programme de recherche sur le VIEILLISSEMENT MALSAIN met l’emphase sur Les maladies des personnes âgées qui affectent principalement le cerveau et le système nerveux.


Le programme de recherche sur le VIEILLISSEMENT SAIN de l’Hôpital Douglas a été mis en place il y a plusieurs années sous la direction du Dr N.V.P. Nair qui, en collaboration avec l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, a établi un programme de recherche de surveillance qui invitait des aînés bénévoles à visiter la clinique deux fois par année pour un examen physique, neuropsychologique et biomédical complet. Plus de 400 bénévoles ont été recrutés dans cette étude à long terme sur le vieillissement sain et plusieurs découvertes ont été faites sur les conséquences physiologiques de la détérioration du système endocrinien reliée à l’âge. En plus du Dr N.P.V. Nair, les Drs S. Lupien, M. Meaney, D. Dastoor et M.D. Schwartz ont tous joué un rôle crucial dans le développement de ce programme de recherche.

Publications à impact élevé:

Lupien S. J., de Léon M., de Santi S., Convit A., Tarshish C., Nair N. P., Thakur M., McEwen B. S., Hauger R. L., and Meaney M. J. (1998) Cortisol levels during human aging predict hippocampalatrophy and memory deficits [see comments] [published erratum appears in Nat Neurosci 1998 Aug;1(4):329]. Nat Neurosci 1, 69-73.


Le programme de recherche sur le VIEILLISSEMENT MALSAIN comprend essentiellement deux unités distinctes:

1a: L’Unité de recherche sur la maladie d’Alzheimer basée au Centre de recherche et d’études sur le vieillissement de l’Université McGill
· Dr. Serge Gauthier, Directeur de l’unité de recherche sur la maladie d’Alzheimer; Mme Margaret de Chazal, Responsable/coordonnatrice de la recherche clinique; Mme. Jeanie Hall, Infirmière de recherche; Dr. Pedro Rosa-Neto, Neurologue; Dr Marie-Chantal Ménard MD, Omnipraticienne;

1b: Clinique de mémoire
· Dr. Serge Gautheir , Neurologue; Dr. Pedro Rosa-Neto, Neurologue;

La clinique de mémoire fait partie de l’Unité de recherche sur la maladie d’Alzheimer située au Centre de recherche et d’études sur le vieillissement de l’Université McGill.

2: Unité de neuroimagerie translationnelle
· Dr. Pedro Rosa-Neto , Neurologue;
Pour plus d’information veuillez vous référer à http://tnl.research.mcgill.ca/

Publications pertinentes:

  • Reisberg B, Jamil IA, Khan S, Monteiro I, Torossian C, Ferris S, Sabbagh M, Gauthier S, Auer S, Shulman MB, Kluger A, Frannsen E, Weigel J. Staging dementia. In “Principles and practice of geriatric psychiatry”, 3rd Ed. Abou-Saleh M, Katona C, Kumar A Eds. Wiley-Blackwell Publications, Chichester, England, 162-169, 2010.

  • Massoud F, Desmarais JE, Gauthier S. Switching cholinesterase inhibitors in older adults with dementia. International Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, 23, 372-378, 2011.

  • Belleville S, Clément F, Mellah S, Gilbert B, Fontaine F, Gauthier S. Training-related brain plasticity in subjects at risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease. Brain, 134, 1623-1634, 2011.

  • Ballard C, Gauthier S, Corbett A, Brayne C, Aarsland D, Jones E. Alzheimer’s Disease. The Lancet, 377, 1019-1031, 2011.

  • Gauthier S, Patterson C, Gordon M, Soucy JP, Schubert F, Leuzy A. Commentary on the NINCDS-AA revised criteria for Alzheimer Disease: a Canadian perspective. Alzheimer’s & Dementia, 7, 330-332, 2011.

  • Wu L, Rosa-Neto P, Gauthier S. Use of biomarkers in clinical trials for Alzheimer’s disease: from concept to application. Molecular Diagnosis & Therapy, in press.

  • Dubois B, Feldman H, Jacova C, Cummings J, DeKosky S, Barberger-Gateau P, Delacourte A, Frisoni G, Fox NC, Galasko D, Gauthier S, Hampel H, Jicha GA, Meguro K, O’Brien J, Pasquier F, Robert P, Rossor M, Salloway S, Sarazin M, de Souza LC, Stern Y, Visser PJ, Scheltens P. Revising the definition of Alzheimer’s disease: a new lexicon. Lancet Neurology 9, 1118-1127, 2010.

McGill University Research Centre for Studies in Aging
Projects
Research & Training
Clinics
Activities
Home
Members
Resources
Recognition
Publications
News
Meetings
Athletics
Staff
Funding Support
Annual Report
Donate
Contact
McGill Logo
Douglas Logo
   
 

The McGill University Research Centre for Studies in Aging (MCSA) has developed a strong expertise in the field of brain aging. It is recognized as one of the world's leading research centres in the fields of memory, cognition and forms of dementias such as Alzheimer's disease and other age-related disorders.

Key features of the MCSA include:

  • Research clinics in memory and cognitive dysfunction, Alzheimer's disease, and in normal aging
     
  • Research programmes in genetics, endocrinology, pharmacology, molecular biology, neurochemistry, neuropathology and behavioural psychology (http://tnl.research.mcgill.ca)

BASIC RESEARCH

Knowledge transfer activities:

· Annual member and donor meeting (typically in June of each year, 2010: June 22nd and 23rd; 2011: June 21st lunch and afternoon meeting; approx. 50 attendees per meeting). At these events, the Centre’s scientists review accomplishments in research findings and discoveries of the past year, and explain new clinical trials and their therapeutic promises.

· Public Lecture Series "BRAINY BOOMERS". In 2007, the MCSA Education Committee established the "Brainy Boomers Lecture Series" to support its objectives, raise awareness and educate the community at large. Since then we have presented 150 lectures in total at various locations in the Montreal area. The public lecture series are given by academic professionals and medical specialists. The goal of the series is to suggest and initiate practical steps to improve brain health, to prevent age-related disorders, as well as to promote healthy lifestyle choices amongst the most populous generation in history. The public lecture series continues to be one of the highlights of our Centre's activities.

· Scientific symposium as a satellite to the Cognitive Neuroscience Conference at the Hilton Bonaventure in Montreal (http://cns-satellite.mcgill.ca/index.html). Over the course of one day, we hosted eleven speakers (among those C Cuello, J Breitner, J Poirier, J Doyon, S Gauthier and T Montine) who presented recent findings on their respective research area in the context of aging and dementia research to an audience of around 200 scientists and student trainees.

· A one-day symposium for the lay public on October 1st, 2010 (http://aging.mcgill.ca/symposium_oct2010.htm). Hosting speakers from the Centre, from McGill University as well as from the Douglas Institute, and co-organized with the Memory Clinic of the Douglas Institute, we updated on the latest findings regarding a healthy lifestyle supporting healthy and successful aging. This event took place on the grounds of the Douglas Hospital and hosted over 200 participants from Montreal.

Research Training Activities

- MCSA journal club with speakers from McGill or other Montreal universities’ faculties, held bimonthly; students and residents from members and colleagues are invited, typical attendance of 30 subjects.

- MCSA student reception during the summer months on the grounds of the MCSA (‘five to seven’), held weekly during the summer months: A place to meet fellow students and residents from other departments, labs and backgrounds to discuss common interests and explore areas for collaboration, at the student level; typical attendance 20 subjects.

- Ongoing student training on clinical, endocrine and neuroimaging methods in the laboratories of MCSA staff for the 20+ graduate students from MCSA core researchers

- MCSA student travel stipends for students of MCSA members to visit conferences relevant to aging and dementia (5 stipends up to $750 each per year)

Research Activities:

In addition to the individual research activities of the scientists of the centre, we launched a common research activity of the Centre in 2010: The Program for the Prevention Of Neurodegenerative Disease in Everybody at Risk (PONDER; http://ponder.mcgill.ca/). This cognitive testing and training initiative recruits adult subjects (40 to 90 years of age) from the local community and assesses their cognitive abilities over time in areas that have been identified as showing the earliest changes in neurodegenerative disease (e.g., digit-span, trail-making, word-list). At the same time, it allows participants to engage in cognitive training in areas that have been shown to be sensitive for enhancement through training, i.e. memory, processing speed, and attention. The Program was launched in April, 2010, for a beta-testing phase, and has without active recruitment and advertisement already attracted more than 100 participants


CLINICAL RESEARCH

The clinical research programme of the MCSA was established to examine and determine the clinical characteristics of normal and abnormal aging in human subjects.

· The HEALTHY AGING research programme that focuses on the characterization of psychological and biological markers associated with normal healthy aging.

· The UNHEALTHY AGING research program that focuses on diseases of the elderly that affects primarily the brain and the nervous system.


The HEALTHY AGING research programme based at the Douglas Hospital was put in place several years ago under the leadership of Dr. N.P.V. Nair who, in collaboration with the World Health Organization, established a monitoring research programme that invited healthy elderly volunteers to visit the clinic twice yearly for a complete physical, neuropsychological and biochemical check-up. More than 400 volunteers were enrolled in this long term study of healthy aging and several discoveries were made on the physiological consequences of age-related deterioration of the endocrine system. In addition to Dr. N.P.V. Nair, Drs. S. Lupien, M. Meaney, D. Dastoor and M. D. Schwartz have all played crucial roles in the development of this research programme.

High Impact Publications:

Lupien S. J., de Léon M., de Santi S., Convit A., Tarshish C., Nair N. P., Thakur M., McEwen B. S., Hauger R. L., and Meaney M. J. (1998) Cortisol levels during human aging predict hippocampalatrophy and memory deficits [see comments] [published erratum appears in Nat Neurosci 1998 Aug;1(4):329]. Nat Neurosci 1, 69-73.


The UNHEALTHY AGING research programme basically encompasses two distinct clinical units:

1a: The Alzheimer Disease Research Unit based at the McGill Centre for Studies in Aging
· Dr. Serge Gauthier, Director of the Alzheimer’s Disease Research Unit; Mrs. Margaret de Chazal, Clinical Research Manager/Coordinator; Mrs. Jeanie Hall, Research Nurse; Dr. Pedro Rosa-Neto, Neurologist; Dr. Marie-Chantal Menard MD, General Practitioner;

1b: The Memory Clinic
· Dr. Serge Gautheir , Neurologist; Dr. Pedro Rosa-Neto, Neurologist;

The memory clinic is part of the Alzheimer's Disease Research Unit located at the McGill Center for Studies in Aging

2: Translational Neuroimaging Unit
· Dr. Pedro Rosa-Neto , Neurologist;
For more information please refer to: http://tnl.research.mcgill.ca/

Relevant Publications:

  • Reisberg B, Jamil IA, Khan S, Monteiro I, Torossian C, Ferris S, Sabbagh M, Gauthier S, Auer S, Shulman MB, Kluger A, Frannsen E, Weigel J. Staging dementia. In “Principles and practice of geriatric psychiatry”, 3rd Ed. Abou-Saleh M, Katona C, Kumar A Eds. Wiley-Blackwell Publications, Chichester, England, 162-169, 2010.

  • Massoud F, Desmarais JE, Gauthier S. Switching cholinesterase inhibitors in older adults with dementia. International Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, 23, 372-378, 2011.

  • Belleville S, Clément F, Mellah S, Gilbert B, Fontaine F, Gauthier S. Training-related brain plasticity in subjects at risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease. Brain, 134, 1623-1634, 2011.

  • Ballard C, Gauthier S, Corbett A, Brayne C, Aarsland D, Jones E. Alzheimer’s Disease. The Lancet, 377, 1019-1031, 2011.

  • Gauthier S, Patterson C, Gordon M, Soucy JP, Schubert F, Leuzy A. Commentary on the NINCDS-AA revised criteria for Alzheimer Disease: a Canadian perspective. Alzheimer’s & Dementia, 7, 330-332, 2011.

  • Wu L, Rosa-Neto P, Gauthier S. Use of biomarkers in clinical trials for Alzheimer’s disease: from concept to application. Molecular Diagnosis & Therapy, in press.

  • Dubois B, Feldman H, Jacova C, Cummings J, DeKosky S, Barberger-Gateau P, Delacourte A, Frisoni G, Fox NC, Galasko D, Gauthier S, Hampel H, Jicha GA, Meguro K, O’Brien J, Pasquier F, Robert P, Rossor M, Salloway S, Sarazin M, de Souza LC, Stern Y, Visser PJ, Scheltens P. Revising the definition of Alzheimer’s disease: a new lexicon. Lancet Neurology 9, 1118-1127, 2010.